About ALSA

In 1935, a group of women met in the home of Katharine Irvine to begin a journey of helping young people in the greater Orange County area. That first meeting and many that followed led to the formation of Orange County’s first chapter of Assistance League. Today over 2750 children, teens and seniors in Santa Ana receive help from Assistance League of Santa Ana. With over 450 volunteers of all ages, Assistance League Santa Ana continuously serves the greater Santa Ana community since 1935 without issue of race, creed, or belief. It is our greatest motivation to help children and their families help themselves. Through programs of subsidized dental care, free eye exams and glasses, school uniforms and supplies to elementary students, gifts to seniors, support to college students through mentoring and scholarship… members actively make a difference.

Assistance League is a nonprofit corporation integrated in the community whose support comes from the community and stays in the community.

  • YOU can make a difference
  • YOU can DONATE
  • YOU can become a MEMBER today
  • JOIN Assistance League of Santa Ana

Mission Statement

“Assistance League is dedicated to assisting the community by identifying and serving the needs of Santa Ana through the volunteer efforts of its members.”

  • Assistance League is a tax-exempt philanthropic 501(c)(3) nonprofit, all-volunteer philanthropic corporation. We are nonsectarian and nonpolitical in all our policies and activities.
  • Chapter members volunteer over 25,000 hours of community service annually on behalf of local families in need.
  • More than $600,000 in direct services is returned to the community annually.

Board of Directors

June 2013 – May 2014

President Kay Housley

President-Elect Linda Blevins

Vice President Membership Carm McDonald

Vice President Philanthropy Gayle McLean

Vice President Resource Development Michele Meyer

Secretary Joyce Covert

Treasurer Shirley Dunn

Strategic Planning Chair Harriet Rodiger

Education Chair Jill Picone

Public Relations Chair Judy Tschetter

Founders Circle Auxiliary Chair Nancy Tallman

Katharine Irvine Auxiliary Chair Jan Martens

Modjeska Auxiliary Chair(s) Analee Kredel-Speer, April Anderson, Deb Foy

Assisteens Coordinator(s) Maggie Hart and Charlotte Waggoner

Parliamentarian Joyce Rohrbaugh


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s